Square Enix will finally reveal its Avengers game at E3

Square Enix will finally reveal their Avengers game at E3.

That news comes by way of a tweet from the official Marvel account this afternoon, which also slated the title of the game as ‘Marvel Avengers’.

It’s been a little over two years since Marvel dropped a teaser trailer to announce the game, during which time two Avengers movies have been released, with one particular joker over on YouTube commenting that “the devs must’ve got snapped away by Thanos”. Absolutely no details have been given on the game since then, but it now seems that we will finally get some more details during Square Enix’s showing at E3, which will take place at 6pm PT/9pm ET on Monday 10th June for our friends in the US, which is 2am BST on Tuesday 11th June here in the UK. I better stock up on some energy drinks.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rq_V6WHSmQs

All that we know about the game so far is that it’s being worked on by Crystal Dynamics, who are best known for their work on the Tomb Raider series, and Eidos-Montréal, the Canadian developers who took over development of the Deus Ex series following Ion Storm’s closure.

Back when the game was first announced, Marvel described it as a “multi-year, multi-game partnership” that was “being designed for gamers worldwide and will be packed with all the characters, environments, and iconic moments that have thrilled longtime fans of the franchise”. They promised that it will feature a “completely original story” and “introduce a universe gamers can play in for years to come”.

How much of that is true and how much is just promotional bulls**t? I guess we’ll find out on Monday 10th June.

Chris is our resident FPS-obsessed football fanatic who, when not playing an FPS or FIFA, can probably be found spending the odd 100 hours or so building his perfect farm on Stardew Valley. Chris comes to you with a hint of cynicism and plenty of sarcasm.

Lost Password