Apex Legends 1.1 update went live yesterday, making a number of quality of life changes and bug fixes that were meant to make things a little bit smoother for players. Although it made the desired changes, it also did something that cocked things up for players – it seemingly reset all player progression.
As you can probably imagine, Twitter went into meltdown, with many players monumentally losing their s**t and worrying about losing all of the items that they have spent their hard earned real-world money or in-game currency on. Respawn quickly acknowledged the issue and advised that players don’t purchase or craft any items until they sorted what was going on.
Until the issue has been resolved we recommend players do not buy or craft anything. We’ll continue to provide updates, along with an ETA, as information comes in.
— Apex Legends (@PlayApex) April 3, 2019
Thankfully, Respawn has now fixed the issue and restored all that was lost up to the moment that 1.1 went live. According to a Reddit post regarding the fix, the 1.1 update unintentionally moved players to the wrong servers that didn’t have their persistence, which made players accounts appear as though they had been reset, which wasn’t actually the case. To fix the issue, Respawn shut down all live servers so that they could move players across to their intended servers, before kicking the servers back up again, beginning with Xbox before moving on to PS4 and PC.
Essentially, nothing was ever actually lost, and all progress up until update 1.1 went live was safe and sound. The fix does mean, however, that all progress and purchases that were made after 1.1 went live has now been rolled back, so all levels earned, items unlocked, packs opened, and currency spent has been reverted back to how it was before 1.1 went live. Don’t panic though, as even if you did make purchases (that have now been wiped) after the update then your currency will be restored in full, so you haven’t actually lost anything.
So, panic over – it was all a load of fuss about nothing, really. If you’re more bothered about what (intended) changes were made in the update then you can check out the patch notes below. Players did notice that a feature that was giving players a penalty for leaving games early had gone live as part of the update, but it was conspicuous by its absence in the patch notes, but Respawn has since confirmed that this was a feature that is currently being tested internally and was never meant to go live, so it has now been disabled.
Quality Of Life
- Added the ability to party up with the last squad you played with. After the match you will see buttons in the lobby that display the last two people you played with and can invite them to your squad.
- Additional behind-the-scenes improvements for squashing cheaters.
- Added Mute button during the intro and Legend selection.
- When using the Report Player button for PC, you now have the option of selecting Cheat or Other.
- Added informative messages that appear on PC for crashes due to:
- Running out of memory.
- CPU errors best explained by overclocking/overheating.
- Added better collision to the turrets on Supply Ships.
- Stability fixes to all platforms.
- Fixed issue where the Battle Pass rewards page would not have a default item selected, resulting in a mostly blank page.
- Fixed bug for PS4 and X1 where sometimes attempting to use a keyboard to chat could cause a fatal script error.
- Fixed bug with Banner Cards not showing up during and at the end of a match.
Jump Pad Phase Walk Interactions
- Octane’s Jump Pad no longer affects players when using Into the Void ability.