Operation Absolute Zero rolls out on Xbox One and PC, and Zero gets nerfed

Operation Absolute Zero—the free content update which debuted on PS4 last week—is now live on both Xbox One and PC.

The biggest addition for Operation Absolute Zero was the introduction of Black Ops 4’s first new specialist, the aptly named Zero. It’s safe to say that Zero didn’t go down too well the with the COD community, largely because her Ice Pick ability is more overpowered than Godzilla wearing armor. Zero’s Ice Pick ability allowed her to hack enemy scorestreaks with great ease, meaning she could easily take control of your hard-earned Attack Chopper or Gunship and destroy everyone without ever having to earn one herself.

In response, Treyarch has nerfed Zero on PS4 and released her nerfed version on Xbox One and PC. It will now take longer for her to earn her Ice Pick ability, and the length of time it takes to hack scorestreaks has been increased, with significant increases in time to the likes of Sniper’s Nest, Mantis, Thresher, Attack Chopper, and Gunship. Her full list of changes are as follows:

  • Increased amount of time it takes to earn the Ice Pick.

  • Increased time required to hack UAV, Care Package, and Counter UAV.

  • Greatly increased time required to hack Sentry, Drone Squad, Sniper’s Nest, Mantis, Thresher, Attack Chopper, and Gunship.

  • Increased time required to hack Torque’s Barricade.

  • Hacking an enemy no longer prevents their healing cooldown.

  • Hacking an enemy Assault Pack now causes it to expire.

The update has also added all other parts of Operation Absolute Zero to the game on the Xbox One and PC, including the introduction of the ARAV armored vehicle in Blackout and the addition of Hijacked to Blackout’s map.

Speaking of Blackout, Custom Games have now been added to the game following their announcement last week, allowing up to 12 players to drop in and explore Blackout’s map without fear of being gunned down at any moment. There are also new featured playlists available in multiplayer, including Half Off Heist and Mercenary Objective Moshpit.

If all of that isn’t enough, the new Black Ops Pass content is now available for players who own the Black Ops Pass. The new content includes two new maps; Elevation and Madagascar, an all-new Zombies experience called Dead Of The Night (which stars Kiefer Sutherland, Brian Blessed, Charles Dance, and Helena Bonham Carter), and the introduction of Black Ops 3 fan-favourite Reaper to Blackout. There’s also a new featured playlist for Black Ops Pass holders, called Map Pack Moshpit. No prizes for guessing what that includes.

There’s also a whole host of stability updates and bug fixes. The full list of changes can be found here.



, , ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *