FIFA 19 adds La Liga to its long list of licenses

Sorry about all those L’s!

The issue of licensing is an argument that comes about every single year as we lead up to the release of Pro Evolution Soccer and FIFA, and every year FIFA comes out on top in the licensing respect. This year, FIFA has already taken the rights to the Champions League and Europa League away from Konami (leave them with something, we beg of you) and now it has added over 200 new La Liga head scans to provide more authentic player likenesses and, more importantly, 16 brand new fully licensed La Liga stadiums. The new stadiums that have been added are:

  • Estadio ABANCA-Riazor (Deportivo La Coruña)
  • Estadio Benito Villamarín (Real Betis)
  • Estadio La Rosaleda (Málaga)
  • Estadio San Mamés (Athletic Bilbao)
  • Ramón Sánchez-Pizjuán (Sevilla)
  • Coliseum Alfonso Pérez (Getafe)
  • Estadio de Gran Canaria (UD Las Palmas)
  • Estadio de la Cerámica (Villareal)
  • RCDE Stadium (Espanyol)
  • Estadio de Balaídos (Celta Vigo)
  • Municipal de Ipurua (Eibar)
  • Estadio Ciutat de València (Levante)
  • Estadio de Anoeta (Real Sociedad)
  • Municipal de Butarque (Leganés)
  • Estadio de Mendizorrotza (Alavés)
  • Estadio de Montilivi (Girona)

Real Madrid, Valencia and Atletico Madrid’s stadiums are already in the game, meaning we have a total of 19 fully licensed La Liga stadiums to play in. FIFA also has the rights to the La Liga broadcast package, meaning we get authentic team lineups and scoreboards.

Unfortunately for Barcelona fans, Konami still has exclusive rights to the Camp Nou, meaning the famous ground will be the only La Liga stadium not to feature in FIFA 19. Small victories and all that.

FIFA 19 releases on PS4, Xbox One and PC on September 28th.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *