A Pokemon Nintendo Direct is happening tomorrow

Nintendo has announced that a short episode of Nintendo Direct that is entirely dedicated to Pokemon will take place tomorrow, Wednesday 27th February, at 2pm GMT/3pm CET/9am ET/6am PST.

The broadcast will last for approximately seven minutes and will contain new information about upcoming Pokemon games, with the eighth generation of Pokemon games expected to be revealed.

As previously announced by Nintendo, the eighth generation of Pokemon games will be exclusive for the Nintendo Switch and are scheduled to be released before the end of 2019, so it would make sense for us to be given more information now. The seventh generation of Pokemon games began almost three years ago with Pokemon Sun and Moon on the Nintendo 3DS, and we most recently got Pokemon Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee, which released on the Nintendo Switch in 2018 as enhanced remakes of the first generation Pokemon games—Red, Blue, and Yellow—with some Pokemon Go integration thrown in.

The first game in the eighth generation will be a “core RPG Pokemon title” rather than an enhanced remake, so Switch owners are looking forward to getting more details on the game. It’s no coincidence that this special Pokemon-themed Nintendo Direct is taking place tomorrow – 27th February is Pokemon Day (yes that is a thing) so Nintendo were bound to do something to celebrate.

If you want to watch the presentation then you can do so through the Nintendo website. As always, we’ll keep you up to date with all of the details that are released.

Chris is our resident FPS-obsessed football fanatic who, when not playing an FPS or FIFA, can probably be found spending the odd 100 hours or so building his perfect farm on Stardew Valley. Chris comes to you with a hint of cynicism and plenty of sarcasm.

Lost Password