Stellaris is free on PC this weekend

Stellaris, the sci-fi grand strategy game from Paradox Interactive, is free to play all weekend on Steam to celebrate the games third anniversary.

That means that from now until 10pm BST/5pm ET/2pm PT on Sunday 12th May you can download and play the game through Steam for absolutely nothing, so now is the perfect time to check it out if you’ve been interested for a while but apprehensive about splashing your cash.

Equally, if you play the game and decide you want to carry on playing after the free period then you’ll be able to pick it up at a bargain price, as the base game will be available on sale for £8.74 until Monday 13th May, which represents a 75% saving. There are various savings on all of the expansions for the game too, if you want to expand your Stellaris universe, so to speak.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=130&v=zL0kemiI0yc

In Stellaris, players take control of their very own space empire, setting the values that their population stand by and how they feel about other life, managing things like exploration, research, space diplomacy, and resource discovery, as well as establishing planetary colonies and engaging in space warfare, deciding whether to take a more diplomatic approach—by agreeing to non-aggression pacts or making trade deals—or letting things escalate into a full blown intergalactic war, where victory can allow you to wipe out your enemies and claim their system or integrate them into your own empire.

It’s an interesting game and one that’s well worth checking out for fans of strategy games, particularly if it doesn’t cost you a penny.

Chris is our resident FPS-obsessed football fanatic who, when not playing an FPS or FIFA, can probably be found spending the odd 100 hours or so building his perfect farm on Stardew Valley. Chris comes to you with a hint of cynicism and plenty of sarcasm.

Lost Password