A Half-Life VR game is being announced on Thursday

Valve will finally reveal a new Half-Life game on Thursday 21st November, the company has announced.

Despite years of speculation, anticipation, and memes, however, the game will not be Half-Life 3. Instead, it’s called Half-Life: Alyx, which Valve is describing as their “flagship VR game”. The official reveal for the game will come on Thursday 21st November at 10am PT/1pm ET/6pm GMT.

Although we’ll have to wait until Thursday to see what exactly the new installment in the Half-Life series is all about, the name Alyx suggests that it will revolve around Half-Life 2’s Alyx Vance, which could mean that the game will be a continuation of the story from Half-Life 2. Alternatively, it could be a prequel to Half-Life 2, exploring Alyx’s early days as part of the human resistance.

This news is pretty well timed, given that the original Half-Life released on November 19th 1998, 21 years ago to the day. It’s sequel, Half-Life 2, is a little over 15 years old, having released on November 16th 2004. Feel old yet? I sure as hell do. Although not much is known about the game for now, PC Gamer are reporting rumours that the game will be shown at The Game Awards on Thursday 12th December, and that it will launch in March of next year. As always, we’ll keep you updated as and when that information becomes official.

Chris is our resident FPS-obsessed football fanatic who, when not playing an FPS or FIFA, can probably be found spending the odd 100 hours or so building his perfect farm on Stardew Valley. Chris comes to you with a hint of cynicism and plenty of sarcasm.

Lost Password